Happy 4th!

Dearest readers!

I hope you all had a wonderful 4th of July, I know we did at my house.

My family spent our 4th of July night at a family friend’s house. Me and the other 3 kids scrambled to the roof with mountains of blankets to watch our well-beloved valley burst and bubble like a pot of lava with the absolutely outstanding fireworks this year. Somewhere around 10 o’clock, I hear my brother start humming. Eventually the humming turned to words, and in just a few minutes he, and the rest of us kids, were singing God Bless America from the roof top. My brother and I pick up on one another’s singing all the time, but to have our two friends pick up on it two in such perfect harmony was pretty amazing.

And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free! And I won’t forget the men who died to give this right to me. And I gladly¬†stand up next to you and defend her still today, cuz there ain’t no doubt I love this land! GOD BLESS THE U.S.A!”

Happy blogging,

-S.J.

P.S. Our daily quotes will continue on their normal track on Monday.

3 thoughts on “Happy 4th!

  1. I wish I could have heard you all singing! I was listening to that song on the radio along with watching the finale of the fireworks show in my old home town.

  2. that is a quote from my favorite patriotic song: Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless the USA”…I turn it up as loud as it will go when it comes on the radio…

  3. I have been so far behind on blogs – I had 139 postings in my mailbox tonight when I remembered I hadn’t been to any the last week! What a wonderful idea to be able to go up on the roof and watch the fireworks! I should have tried that – I could see a few over the tops of the trees. I love Independence Day!

Leave a Reply

