Agricultural Work Comes To Quilting

Though I am predominately a quilter, I also love the outdoors. Along with that love for the outdoors comes a love of plants and flowers, so my house is full of them. My personal favorite is a miniature lemon tree that we got when I was either five or six. I think that my parents never expected any fruit to come off that tree, or even for the tree to survive, but because they’re good parents, and they loved me, they bought me a lemon tree, Utah living and all. It took a couple of years, but every summer, we’d move the tree outside to soak up the sunny goodness, and during the winter it lived a safe and warm distance from a window so it could be sunny and not froze.

After about 2 years, we got a few lemons off it. I believe that the first “Crop” was something like four 1/4 pound lemons off the 1 1/2 tall tree. These small but immensely satisfying harvests continued for several years, until about 3 years ago, when we started getting more like 20 lemons instead of four. I harvested the first lemon of this year on Thursday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This particular fruit weighs more than half a pound, and has about 20 fellows on the tree.

Thanks for reading

-S.J.

2 thoughts on “Agricultural Work Comes To Quilting

  1. That’s a great story! My best friend had a mini growing in her townhouse garden in a perfect spot (SoCal) and got more than she could possibly use every year. You should have years of wonderful crops – ummm, fresh lemonade in the middle of winter! And the smell of the lemon blossoms – citrus is great!

Leave a Reply

