And Now…

Well,  I made good resolutions, and I kept them for a  while I guess, but it’s the “for a while” that’s so disappointing. I did do very well, at least for a while, and I am proud of myself for that. But now, I must make up for these many days that I have been neglecting you all shamefully. I apologize for my neglect, and here is the make-up for that.

Here is my latest one-up on my “science project”. The wave quilt is going beautifully, and I love it more and more with every stitch. I’ve decided what I’m going to do with it to. I’ve had a  quilt on my bed for  a while, one that I made when I was ten, or maybe 11,  (I think). But now, that sweet little show-winning will be given a  slight break. The wave quilt will move to the bed this May, when I do my enormous room clean. So here is a picture of that well-beloved and used quilt, for those of you who haven’t met it yet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

This was a picture taken just after the huge room clean last year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a  shot that my mother took at the fair that I entered the quilt in. It won first, and I was so pleased. But that was years ago, and now…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m starting the hand quilting on the wave quilt. I’m planning on entering it in the fair this year. I’m having so much fun with this, and I shall try to keep you all informed with how it’s going. It’s going to take the other quilts place on the bed, and I’m sure it will keep me very warm.

Thanks for reading,

Sparkle Jane

 

 

4 thoughts on “And Now…

  1. And the former winning quilt gets to rest on its laurels in a safe place. It’s good to have more than one quilt in the closet – some nights are really cold! I’m looking forward to seeing the wave quilt finished and spread out. I can’t believe it’s almost time for another room clean out. Actually, I think I should do an entire house clean out!

    • Ha-ha, it’s earned it’s rest, that’s for sure. It does get pretty cold here, and I am ready for the room clean. It’s high time for me….

      On Sun, Mar 23, 2014 at 12:34 PM, Sparkle Jane wrote:

      >

  2. Sparkle Jane:

    I was directed to your blog thru another web page and I would just like to say that it is very REFRESHING to see a young lady who is as thrilled about sewing, crafting, quilting and the art as I was when I was your age. Your web page has brought back such great memories for me and I really wish I would have had this type of technology when I was your age, I would have been doing the same exact thing. I started making afghans when I was in Kindergarten, and by the age 10 was selling them in my mom’s friend’s hair saloon. I would make enough money to buy more yarn to make more blankets.

    I started quilting in 2009 and have been going to town ever since!

    Keep up the good work!

    Tonja Wheeler
    Lewisburg, TN

Leave a Reply

