Ahhhh…The Appropriateness…..

After searching around a bit I discovered that today is world water day. How appropriate! Today I shall celebrate by working like fury on my “water” bargello quilt. Saturdays are quilting days for me. Last Tuesday I posted an update on the quilt, so here’s another.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been working busily, and I really am liking the results. Today I’m going to start cutting the large blocks into the correctly sized strips. Sewing all of those together took a long time, plus I stayed up a wee bit (meaning 2 hours) too late finishing. But I did get myself to bed. Eventually.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One funny story for my readers. I worked on cutting all of those fabric strips out in class one day. One of my friends came over and was asking what on earth I was doing. I explained quilting the way my Mom and I joke about. “Oh quilting is sort of a disease in our family. All the women have this insane urge to cut a perfectly good piece of fabric up and sew it back together again.”  He (it was a male friend) looked slightly confused, and then asked tentatively, “Are you going to cut it up again after that?” I, stifling laughter, replied. “Yes, and into even smaller pieces than before!” He looking thoroughly bemused, asked “How does your Father put up with the two of you?!” I replied saying that quilting was a stress outlet for my Mother and me, and that my Father understood that  quilting kept us happy and sane. He didn’t reply, but his face suggested that he questioned just how sane we really were. (I was doing my best not to laugh through the whole conversation, mostly because I don’t typically cut it up twice, just once. But with bargellos, it is twice, and I was having too much fun to admit that!)

Thanks for reading,

Sparkle Jane

3 thoughts on “Ahhhh…The Appropriateness…..

  1. That’s how Paul always described what I did, but he completely understood, and even did some himself. =) This is going to be the best project! If you’re going to lose sleep, quilting is the best excuse there is.

Leave a Reply

