Lovely Lemonbars

Lemon Bars

 

2c flour

1/2c sifted confectioners sugar

1c butter

4 eggs, beaten

2c granulated sugar

1/3c lemon juice

lemon zest–as  much you can get from the lemons before you juice them

1/4c flour

1/2t baking powder

sift together 2c flour and confectioners sugar.  Cut in butter in a large bowl until mixture clings together.  Press into 9×13 baking pan.  Bake at 350F for 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned.  Beat together eggs, granulated sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice.  Sift 1/4c flour and baking powder together, then stir into egg mixture.  Pour over baked crust.  Bake at 350F for 25 additional minutes.  Sprinkle with additional powdered sugar. Cool and cut into bars.  Try also with LIMES.  Add 2 drops green food color.

These are a favorite treat of my family, so I thought you might like them.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Lovely Lemonbars

  1. My daughter, who now has a 12-year-old of her own, was your age when she made these bars for our county fair and won a blue ribbon. It’s still one of her most requested treats.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. they sound delicious and i am going to make them this weekend when my brother comes up…i have a recipe for ‘cool lemon bars’ that my daughter makes but they are a little bit different than these..thank you so much for giving us this recipe..you are just all around one of the most talented people i have ever known..is there anything you don’t do?????

  3. Thank-you for the recipe. I don’t like to cook but this may just sway me to do it. Only because I love lemons. I have lemons in my house year round. I have lemon slices in tea and I squeeze lemon juice on most of my meals.
    I have all these ingredients on hand for me to give it a go.

Leave a Reply

