The Horror Of…THE BIG CLEAN

Every year, by the time school gets out, my room ( my brother’s room, too ) is a disaster. My mom came up with an idea when we where little: the best way to get our rooms clean was to be serious about it. So every year we use this method, every thing comes out, and I mean EVERYTHING. The fastest way to do it is to take the drawers and boxes, then the really little stuff gets piled into bowls, and then you take out the furniture. Here is the reason we had to dismantle my room, just like we do every year.

This is all the stuff that comes out of it.

I had no idea I had that much stuff! Here is the cleanest room ever!

Maybe the room clean isn’t so bad after all, but it sure does take a long time to do, nice results though. Projects you ask? Lets just say that there’s a whole moving box stuffed to the top.

Thanks for reading

12 thoughts on “The Horror Of…THE BIG CLEAN

  1. Hey Jane! What a great idea! I know it must be a lot of work, but at least you know what you’ve got, and end up with a nice tidy result which must be nice …………… for as long as it lasts, lol.

    Judi x

  2. Looks great! It’s nice to know what you have, remember all the things you forgot, find all the things misplaced. And now you don’t have to do it again for another year!

  3. what a neat sweet room…where did you find it???? lol..if i did that with my sewing room or my bedroom it would like yours before and after..will have to do that someday…p.s. i love your wall hanging over your bed..

  4. That’s a great idea! I should do that with my kids. Looks great and I love it that you have a sewing machine in your room. I hope one day my daughter will want that too (she’s just 4 now).

  5. What a great way of getting a clean room. I wish I had known this when my kids lived at home. I recently did this to my sewing room…..took me weeks……but I couldn’t get it all to fit back in. Your room looks spotless. I do want to know though, who have you stuffed under the dressing table? your brother?.

    • It took me longer than it usually does this year, and I think I know why. Over the past year my room has been becoming a bed room/sewing room. I think that the more sewing stuff you have, the longer it takes! Sparkle Jane P.S.The object under the dresser is Big Pig, who, since I out grew him has lived as a permanent resident under the dresser. P.P.S.My brother, who is 14 and 6’4″ wouldn’t fit under there no matter how hard you tried to make him fit![?]

  6. Good job Sparkle Jane, your mother has a good method. I need to clean my closet out, it frightens me to think what I might find.
    On another note,yesterday I received my beautiful snowball quilt that you made. I am so pleased with your color choices and workmanship. You are a very talented young girl and I see a bright future ahead of you. I emailed your mother about putting a photo, etc on my blog, will wait for her response.
    Again, I am very happy with my quilt and so glad you signed it.
    Hugs and stitches, Betty Lou.

    • Thank you! I think the closet is the worst part of the room no matter how long it’s been since it has last been cleaned! I am glad the quilt has arived safe and sound. Sparkle Jane

  7. That’s a really good idea for cleaning! It makes sure you have to organize and clean up, and it makes it much more obvious as to what you actually have around. I should do that next time I give my apartment a major cleaning. I’ll probably be amazed at just how much junk I have that I ought to find better places for (possibly the garbage, but we’ll see),.

Leave a Reply

